Independent · not affiliated with SpaceXRules last checked · how we check

Taxes and records (cited)

Credit vs cash for tax: what's known about Starlink referral rewards

Many owners assume credit on a bill is tax-free and cash isn't. Neither Starlink nor any IRS page we found says that. Here's what is stated, the IRS concepts people reach for and why none of them settles it, and what to bring to a tax preparer.

Title card: credit vs cash for tax, what's actually known, with figures: no tax withheld from rewards, the 2026 1099-MISC threshold is $2,000, and the tax treatment of credit is not stated.

Key takeaways

  • Credit and cash are the same value, and neither comes with tax included or withheld.
  • The terms call rewards 'promotional incentives', not wages, and make you responsible for deciding whether tax is owed.
  • How referral service credit is treated for tax is not stated by Starlink or any IRS page we found. 'Credit is tax-free' is an assumption, not a rule.
  • The IRS's general position is that all income is taxable unless the law specifically excludes it.
  • Keep records of both and ask a tax professional. Nothing here is tax advice.

Nobody has stated how Starlink referral credit is treated for tax, compared with cash. Starlink’s terms treat both the same way: same value, no tax included or withheld, and the decision about whether tax is owed left to you. The IRS’s general rule is that all income is taxable unless the law specifically excludes it, and we found no IRS page that addresses referral service credits. So “credit is tax-free” is an assumption, not a rule. Keep records of both, and ask a tax professional.

This guide sets out exactly what’s stated, the IRS concepts people point to and why none of them settles the question, and what to bring to a preparer. It isn’t tax advice.

Four statements, all from the Referral Program Terms (republished Oct 3, 2026) or the help center:

  1. Same value. Credit and cash are the same value.
  2. No tax handled. In full:

“Rewards are calculated and issued in local currency, exclusive of taxes. SpaceX is not responsible for any taxes, duties, or other governmental charges arising from or in connection with any Reward. The Referrer is solely responsible for any tax liability associated with receipt of a Reward (including the determination of whether such tax liability exists), for issuing any invoice or tax document required under local law, and for making any necessary filings with the relevant tax authorities.”

Referral Program Terms (US), published Oct 3, 2026
  1. Not wages. The terms call rewards promotional incentives, not wages, salary or commissions. That label describes the reward; it doesn’t by itself decide how the IRS treats it.
  2. No distinction between credit and cash. The tax paragraph says “any Reward”. Credit and cash are both Rewards.

What’s missing: how service credits on your own bill are treated for taxunverified, and whether SpaceX or its payment processor issues a Form 1099 for referral cashunverified. Both are unverified in our data file because no source states them.

Credit and cash, side by side

Same for both: same value, no tax included or withheld, called promotional incentives not wages, you decide whether tax is owed. Cash: a bank deposit through a processor, up to 30 days after maturing, bank fees yours, 1099 not stated. Credit: a line on your Starlink invoice, the default, deducted from your next bill, tax treatment not stated.
What Starlink's terms say about credit and cash, and the two open questions. Read Oct 5, 2026. Not tax advice.
Cash Credit
Value $100 (US example) Same value
How it arrives Bank deposit through SpaceX’s payment processor Deducted from your next Starlink invoice
Timing Up to 30 days after the referral matures On a future invoice after it’s issued
Tax withheld None None
Form 1099 Not stated Not stated
Tax treatment Your determination, per the terms Not stated anywhere we found

The IRS concepts people reach for

IRS concepts. General rule: all income is taxable unless specifically excluded. Publication 525 cash rebates: a rebate on an item you buy isn't income, but a referral reward isn't a rebate on your own purchase, our reading. Prizes and awards in goods or services count at fair market value. Bartering: services received count at fair market value. The gap: which, if any, fits referral credit is not stated.
The IRS rules most often cited in discussions of referral credit, and why none settles it. IRS Publication 525 and newsroom, read Oct 5-6, 2026.

The general rule

The IRS says: the IRS says all income is taxable unless the law specifically excludes it. That’s the starting point. The question for referral credit is whether it’s “income” at all, and if it is, whether anything excludes it.

The rebate argument

The most common argument for credit being tax-free compares it to a rebate. IRS Publication 525 does say rebates aren’t income:

“Cash rebates. A cash rebate you receive from a dealer or manufacturer of an item you buy isn’t income, but you must reduce your basis by the amount of the rebate.”

IRS Publication 525 (for 2025 returns), read Oct 6, 2026

The key words are “of an item you buy”. A rebate is a price reduction on your own purchase. A referral reward is paid because someone else bought something. Our reading: the rebate rule is an imperfect fit, and we wouldn’t rely on it without a professional’s view.

Prizes and awards

Publication 525 says prizes and awards “in goods or services must be included in your income at their FMV” (fair market value). Its examples are contests and drawings. Whether a referral reward is an “award” in this sense isn’t something Pub 525 addresses.

Bartering

Pub 525 also says that in bartering, “you must include in your income, at the time received, the FMV of property or services you receive”. Some people see referral credit as services received in exchange for an introduction. Others note the terms say rewards are “not … compensation for services”. Neither view is settled by anything we can cite.

Timing: when is something “received”?

If tax applies, timing could matter, especially for rewards that arrive around New Year. Pub 525 describes “constructively received income”: “If you’re a cash-method taxpayer, you’re generally taxed on income that is available to you, regardless of whether it is actually in your possession.” How that applies to a credit sitting on a future invoice, or a cash payment issued in December and deposited in January, is a question for a preparer. Your log of issue and deposit dates is what they’ll need.

Reporting thresholds are not the same as taxability

Two IRS thresholds come up in referral discussions:

  • Form 1099-MISC: for prizes, awards and other income, $2,000 paid to one person in 2026, per the IRS instructions.
  • Form 1099-K: Form 1099-K from a payment processor only above $20,000 and more than 200 transactions in a year.

These decide whether a payer files a form. They don’t decide whether income is taxable; the IRS’s general rule doesn’t have a threshold. At Starlink’s US example of $100 per referral, the 1099-MISC threshold would take twenty rewards from one payer in a year. Most owners will never get near it, which is exactly why “no form arrived” shouldn’t be read as “nothing to consider”.

A worked example

You referred three people in 2026. Two rewards paid as credit (in June and September), one as cash (deposited December 18), each $100 per your account.

  • What you know: $300 in total value; $200 as invoice credits, $100 as a deposit; no tax withheld on any of it; probably no 1099, since you’re far below the 1099-MISC threshold (whether one is issued at all isn’t stated).
  • What you don’t: whether the $200 of credit is treated the same as the $100 of cash.
  • What to do: bring the log, the invoices showing the credits, and the bank statement showing the deposit to whoever prepares your return, and ask the questions below.

Questions to bring to a tax professional

  1. Are referral rewards paid as cash reportable income for me, and where would they go on my return?
  2. Is service credit on my own bill treated differently from cash? Does the rebate rule apply, or not?
  3. Does it matter that the terms call rewards “promotional incentives” and “not wages, salary, commissions, or compensation for services”?
  4. For a reward issued in one year and received in the next, which year counts?
  5. If I switch between credit and cash, do I need separate records?
  6. Does my state treat this differently? (Not stated anywhere we found.)

Records that make the answer easy

Whatever the answer, it depends on dates and amounts you’ll want to have. For each reward: the date issued, the amount your account shows, whether it was credit or cash, the invoice or deposit where it appeared, and any bank fee (those are yours: any fee your bank charges to receive the payment is yours to pay). Records to keep for each referral has a copyable log. The IRS’s general guidance is to keep tax records for three years, longer in some situations.

Why this page doesn’t give you an answer

Because no source we can cite gives one, and a confident guess here could cost you more than the reward is worth. This site’s rule is that anything Starlink or the IRS doesn’t state is marked “not stated”, and our own readings are labeled as ours. On this question, the honest summary is short: cash and credit are the same value, the terms treat them the same, the IRS starts from “all income is taxable unless excluded”, and nobody has published how referral credit fits. A tax professional who sees your whole return is the right person to decide. The editorial policy explains how we label facts and when we update them.

Common mistakes

  1. Assuming credit is automatically tax-free. Not stated.
  2. Assuming no 1099 means no income. Thresholds are about forms, not taxability.
  3. Choosing credit to avoid tax. Nothing supports that, and the terms treat both the same.
  4. Throwing away invoices. Credit only shows up there.
  5. Taking a forum post as tax advice. Including this page.

What we don’t know

As of our Oct 5-6, 2026 checks: how referral service credit is treated for federal or state tax; whether SpaceX or its payment processor issues a 1099 for referral cash; and whether the processor will ask for a taxpayer identification number. We’ll update this page and the taxes page if any of that is published.

What to do next

Questions people ask

Is Starlink referral credit taxable?

Not stated. Starlink's terms say rewards are issued with no tax included and that the referrer is responsible for deciding whether tax is owed. No IRS page we found addresses referral service credits specifically. Ask a tax professional.

Is Starlink referral cash taxable?

The terms leave that determination to you, and the IRS says all income is taxable unless specifically excluded. Whether and how to report it depends on your situation; a tax professional can tell you.

Will Starlink withhold tax from my referral reward?

No. The terms say rewards are issued with no tax included and that SpaceX is not responsible for any taxes arising from them.

Will I get a 1099 for Starlink referral rewards?

It isn't stated whether SpaceX or its payment processor issues a Form 1099 for referral cash. For 2026 payments, the IRS 1099-MISC threshold for prizes, awards and other income is $2,000 from one payer.

Isn’t referral credit just a discount on my bill?

That's one argument people make, comparing it to a rebate. But IRS Publication 525's rebate rule covers a rebate on an item you buy, and a referral reward is paid for someone else's purchase. Whether credit counts as income is not stated.

Does choosing credit instead of cash avoid tax?

Nothing published supports that. Both are the same value, and the terms treat them the same way for tax purposes: no tax included, with the determination left to you.

The full picture: Starlink referral taxes and 1099s: what the terms and IRS say. What the terms and IRS pages say about tax on rewards. Not tax advice.

Sources

  1. Starlink · Referral Program Terms (US), starlink.com legal document DOC-1882-84808-83 · dated Oct 3, 2026 · read Oct 5, 2026
  2. Starlink · How do I refer people to Starlink? (Starlink help center, last edited Apr 9, 2026) · dated Apr 9, 2026 · read Oct 5, 2026
  3. IRS · IRS: Never mind the myths; know the facts about receiving a Form 1099-K (IRS newsroom, Mar 1, 2024) · dated Mar 1, 2024 · read Oct 5, 2026
  4. IRS · IRS Instructions for Forms 1099-MISC and 1099-NEC (Rev. December 2026) · read Oct 5, 2026
  5. IRS · IRS issues FAQs on Form 1099-K threshold under the One, Big, Beautiful Bill (IRS newsroom, Oct 23, 2025) · dated Oct 23, 2025 · read Oct 5, 2026
  6. Source · IRS Publication 525, Taxable and Nontaxable Income (for 2025 returns) · read Oct 6, 2026
  7. Source · How long should I keep records? (IRS) · read Oct 6, 2026

Independent · not affiliated with SpaceX. This guide quotes Starlink’s published terms and help pages; it isn’t legal or tax advice, and SpaceX alone decides whether a referral counts. Referral links on this site (the “Starlink plans” button, referral boxes and links to Starlink’s plan pages) are the site owner’s own link, are labeled, and are for US service addresses only. How this site makes money · Report an error