Independent · not affiliated with SpaceXRules last checked · how we check

Program history and changes

The $100 Starlink referral cash option: what was reported vs what's confirmed

In late August 2026, news sites reported that US Starlink customers could take referral rewards as $100 cash. Here's the source ladder, from press report to your own account: what each source says, which details are confirmed by Starlink's own text, and which still rest on press reports.

Title card: the $100 cash option, reported vs confirmed, with dates: press reports Aug 25-26, 2026, terms republished Oct 3, 2026, and your account's Referral Reward Types as the final word.

Key takeaways

  • Press reports on Aug 25-26, 2026 said US referrers could take $100 cash per referral, rolled out around the week of Aug 21.
  • Starlink's own text confirms a cash option 'where available', the same value as credit, with credit as the default.
  • The terms add the conditions the press mostly skipped: payment-processor registration, ID checks, and cash up to 30 days after a referral matures.
  • The rollout date and the minimum-stay change rest on press reports; Starlink published neither date.
  • Your account's Referral Reward Types setting is the final word on whether cash is offered to you.

The $100 cash option is confirmed by Starlink’s own text, but its start date isn’t. Starlink’s help center says referrers can switch to cash “where available”, linked to a bank account, at the same value as credit, with $100 per successful referral as the US example, and the Referral Program Terms set out the payment-processor conditions. The date it began, around the week of August 21, 2026, comes only from press reports. Whether cash is offered to you is shown in your own account.

This guide lines up the sources from weakest to strongest, separates what’s confirmed from what’s reported, and lists what nobody has published.

The source ladder

Four rungs. Rung 1, press reports, August 25 to 26, 2026: cash reported for US referrers, rolled out around the week of August 21. Rung 2, Starlink help center: cash where available, same value as credit, switch under the Referrals tab, $100 US example. Rung 3, Referral Program Terms, October 3, 2026: processor sign-up and ID checks, missing ID means all credit, cash up to 30 days after maturing. Rung 4, your account: Referral Reward Types shows whether cash is offered and the exact amount.
Sources on the cash option, from secondhand to definitive. Read Oct 5, 2026.

Rung 1: press reports

Two reports are in our sources, both labeled “press report” wherever this site uses them:

  • August 25, 2026, satelliteinternet.com. A large review site reported the cash option on Aug 25, 2026press report. Its wording: “SpaceX is now paying you to refer Starlink to family and friends through its revamped customer referral program, which lets current users earn a free service credit or $100 in cash for every friend they refer to Starlink residential service.”
  • August 26, 2026, basenor.com. It described the reward this way: US referrers can choose $100 cash to a linked bank account (rolled out around the week of Aug 21, 2026)press report. It dated the rollout to around the week of Aug 21, 2026press report. It also reported that the new customer's minimum stay went from one month to twopress report.

Press reports are useful for timing, because Starlink doesn’t announce dates. They’re weaker on conditions: a news summary rarely quotes the processor clause.

The referral help article (last edited Apr 9, 2026, per Starlink’s page data) describes cash in Starlink’s own words:

“Where cash is available, you can switch to cash, linked to your bank account, for future referrals under the Referrals tab in your Starlink account.”

Starlink help center, “How do I refer people to Starlink?”, read Oct 5, 2026

The same article confirms the rest of the reward basics: credit and cash are the same value; rewards arrive as service credit unless you choose cash; your account's Referral Reward Types setting shows whether cash is offered to you; and the amount is “shown in your account (for example, $100 per successful referral in the US).”

A puzzle: the metadata says the article was last edited April 9, 2026, but the text mentions cash, which the press dates to August. The changelog treats this honestly: changed after December 9, 2025, current by October 5, 2026.

Rung 3: the Referral Program Terms

The terms, republished Oct 3, 2026, add the conditions:

  • Processor registration: Cash needs registration with SpaceX's chosen third-party payment processor, kept in good standing.
  • ID checks: If you don't finish the processor's identity checks, every reward is paid as credit.
  • Timing: Cash can be paid up to 30 days after the referral matures.
  • Bad bank details: Cash that bounces because of wrong details or bank problems can be re-issued as credit instead.
  • Fees: Any fee your bank charges to receive the payment is yours to pay.
  • Can be withdrawn: SpaceX can end any referrer's participation, or their cash option, for convenience with 30 days' notice.

These are the details that decide whether you actually get cash, and they’re why some owners who “switched to cash” still receive credit. Why every reward can become credit covers them in depth.

Rung 4: your own account

The terms say the exact reward amount is the one shown in your Starlink account, and the help center says your account's Referral Reward Types setting shows whether cash is offered to you. Whatever any article says, ours included, the Referral Reward Types setting in your account is what applies to you.

Reported vs confirmed

Three boxes. Confirmed in Starlink's text: cash where available at the same value as credit; credit stays the default; $100 is the US example; processor sign-up and ID checks required; cash up to 30 days after maturing. Press report only: rollout around the week of August 21, 2026; minimum stay rose from one month to two then. Not stated anywhere: the payment processor's name; whether a 1099 is issued for cash.
Which details rest on Starlink's own text, which on press reports, and which on nothing yet. Checked Oct 5, 2026.
Detail Status
Cash available to US referrers (where offered) Starlink’s own text
Same value as credit; credit is the default Starlink’s own text
$100 per successful US referral Starlink’s own text (as its US example)
Processor registration and ID checks Starlink’s own text (terms)
Cash up to 30 days after maturity Starlink’s own text (terms)
Rolled out around the week of Aug 21, 2026 Press report
Minimum stay rose from one month to two at the same time Press report (the two-cycle rule itself is in the terms)
The processor’s name Not stated: the terms don't name the payment processorunverified
Whether a 1099 is issued for cash Not stated

A timeline of what we can date

Putting every dated source in order shows how little of the story Starlink itself has dated:

Date Source What it shows
Dec 18, 2023 Starlink help center (archived) Both people get a month of credit; no cash
Dec 9, 2025 Starlink help center (archived) Same 2023 wording, still live
Apr 9, 2026 Help article metadata Last edit date of today’s text (uncertain)
~Aug 21, 2026 Press report Cash rollout, “around the week of”
Aug 25, 2026 satelliteinternet.com Cash reported
Aug 26, 2026 basenor.com Cash and two-month minimum reported
Oct 3, 2026 Starlink legal documents list Referral Program Terms republished

Only the first, second and last rows are Starlink’s own dated text. The April date conflicts with the August reports, since the article now mentions cash. That’s why the changelog labels the help-center rewrite “uncertain” and the cash entry “approximate”. If Starlink ever publishes its own change history, we’ll replace the press-dated rows.

What this means if you referred someone over the summer

If a friend used your link between roughly June and September 2026, you may be wondering which rules applied: the one-month minimum and a free month for you, or the two-cycle minimum and a cash-or-credit reward. Starlink hasn’t said, and we won’t guess. The practical step is to look at what your Referrals page and invoices show for that referral, and keep a dated screenshot. Records to keep for each referral explains what to note.

What the change replaced

Before the change, the sender didn’t get money at all. In the earliest version we can source, both people received a service credit: the app's share button read "Free month for you and them", and credits landed 30 days after the new customer activated. The shift from “a free month for both” to “a free month for the new customer, a reward for the sender” is the biggest change in the program’s sourced history; why old posts still say “free month for you and them” covers the leftovers.

Reading news about the program

A few habits help when the next change is reported:

  1. Look for the quote. A report that quotes Starlink’s terms or help center is more useful than one that paraphrases.
  2. Separate the “what” from the “when”. Press is often right about when something appeared and vaguer about conditions.
  3. Check the account. For anything about your own rewards, Referral Reward Types and your Referrals page are definitive.
  4. Watch the dates. The terms say SpaceX can change or end the program, or the reward, with 30 days' notice, and referrals already pending when a change is announced keep the old terms during the notice period. A reported change doesn’t hit referrals already pending during the notice period.

We log sourced changes on the changelog and post news only when the terms, reward, payout or eligibility actually change; see program news.

Is cash right for you?

Same value, different trail. Credit is automatic and comes off your next invoice. Cash takes a processor registration and ID checks, can take up to 30 days after a referral matures, and any bank fee is yours. If you’ll keep Starlink, credit is simpler; if you’d rather have money, switch and finish the processor’s steps before your next referral matures. Credit or cash has the full comparison, and credit vs cash for tax collects what’s known (and not) on tax.

Common mistakes

  1. Treating a news date as Starlink’s date. It’s a press report.
  2. Assuming “cash” means automatic cash. Credit stays the default until you switch and register.
  3. Expecting cash the day the referral matures. Allow up to 30 days.
  4. Assuming cash is permanent. The terms let SpaceX end a referrer’s cash eligibility with 30 days’ notice (rewards tied to pending referrals excepted).

What we don’t know

As of our Oct 5, 2026 check, Starlink hasn’t published: the date cash began in the US; whether the minimum-stay change and the cash option happened on the same day; the payment processor’s name; or whether a 1099 is issued for referral cash.

What to do next

Questions people ask

Does Starlink pay $100 cash for referrals?

Starlink's help center says referrers can switch to cash, where available, linked to a bank account, and gives $100 per successful referral as the US example. The exact amount, and whether cash is offered to you, is shown in your account.

When did Starlink start paying referral cash in the US?

Starlink didn't publish a date. Press reports from August 25 and 26, 2026 said the change rolled out around the week of August 21, 2026.

How do I get Starlink referral cash instead of credit?

Switch to cash under the Referrals tab in your Starlink account, then register with SpaceX's payment processor and complete its identity checks. Rewards default to credit, and an unfinished registration means all rewards are paid as credit.

Is the cash reward more than the credit?

No. Starlink's help center says each eligible referral earns a service credit or cash of the same value.

Did the referral minimum stay change at the same time?

Press reports said the new customer's minimum stay rose from one month to two when cash arrived. Starlink's current terms require two full billing cycles, but Starlink didn't date the change.

Who is the payment processor for Starlink referral cash?

The terms don't name it. They say SpaceX selects a third-party payment processor, which may vary by jurisdiction and change over time.

The full picture: Starlink referral program changelog: every change, dated. What changed, when, and the source for each change since Dec 2023.

Sources

  1. Press · Starlink Is Now Paying Customers Cash to Refer a Friend (satelliteinternet.com, Aug 25, 2026) · dated Aug 25, 2026 · read Oct 5, 2026
  2. Press · Starlink Referral Program: 6 Details That Matter (basenor.com, Aug 26, 2026) · dated Aug 26, 2026 · read Oct 5, 2026
  3. Starlink · How do I refer people to Starlink? (Starlink help center, last edited Apr 9, 2026) · dated Apr 9, 2026 · read Oct 5, 2026
  4. Starlink · Referral Program Terms (US), starlink.com legal document DOC-1882-84808-83 · dated Oct 3, 2026 · read Oct 5, 2026
  5. Starlink · "How do I refer a friend to Starlink?" as written Dec 18, 2023 (Internet Archive copy captured Jun 11, 2025) · dated Dec 18, 2023 · read Oct 5, 2026

Independent · not affiliated with SpaceX. This guide quotes Starlink’s published terms and help pages; it isn’t legal or tax advice, and SpaceX alone decides whether a referral counts. Referral links on this site (the “Starlink plans” button, referral boxes and links to Starlink’s plan pages) are the site owner’s own link, are labeled, and are for US service addresses only. How this site makes money · Report an error